The All-India Senior Selection Committee on Thursday named the squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies. Rohit Sharma will be leading the side while the likes of Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah are not in the squad. KL Rahul has made his way back into the squad but however, his inclusion is subject to fitness.

Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, and Ishan Kishan are all part of the T20I squad for the upcoming series against West Indies. The five-match T20I series against West Indies will begin on July 29, but before that three ODIs will also be played, beginning July 22.

Kuldeep Yadav has also been named in the squad, but his inclusion is also subject to fitness. Ravichandran Ashwin has also earned a T20I call-up for the upcoming series

Earlier, the squad for the ODI series against West Indies was named and the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, and Jasprit Bumrah were all rested. Umran Malik is not a part of the squad while Arshdeep Singh is a part of the squad.

All eyes will be on the performances of youngsters Deepak Hooda, Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh, based on opportunities they get, as players try and stake a claim for a place in the squad for the ICC T20 World Cup, which will be played in Australia in October-November.

KL Rahul’s return from injury will be crucial as India will look to seal its top order spots.

There was no reason given in the official BCCI release about the reason behind Jasprit Bumrah and Virat Kohli not being named in the squad.

Kohli has been struggling for form off late and also missed India 1st ODI against England due to a groin strain. His participation in the 2nd ODI later today is also in doubt due to the injury.


Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Topics mentioned in this article

sports.ndtv.com , https%3A%2F%2Fsports.ndtv.com%2Fcricket%2Fno-virat-kohli-in-indias-squad-for-west-indies-t20is-rohit-sharma-to-lead-kl-rahul-returns-as-vice-captain-3156824%23rss-sports-cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.